#17 Pita Pit

2635_m_w_400png.jpgDucks and Beavers have only one thing in common= Their distinct love for late night Pita Pit (well, maybe their hatred for John Canzano). Across multiple college town locations, Pita Pit has grown an army of chicken-infused pita followers. Whether you order a fantastic Caesar or the custom made “Liberal Pita”* it all achieves the same end goal… hangover-preventer-extraordinaire-sustenance. If you haven’t had the chance to read any of the other things about Portland that suck, I enjoy a late night snack to reach my fave 3,000 calories-per-day target. Not going to lie, it’s a pretty awesome diet.

But I digress. Let’s hit the hard facts about the downtown Pita Pit. This isn’t your daytime go-to-spot for lunchies. If you work downtown, your more apt to visit Thai/Mexican food cart guy, and why wouldn’t you? $4 for a delicious, coma-inducing burrito is a much better solution for food addiction. Why stand in line for some horrific pita that will make your stomach churn? This is the epitome of why Pita pit downtown sucks so hard.

Every single freakin’ time I’ve eatin’ here, late night or not, I get sick. I’m not talking about serious food disorders, but more of the TERRIBLE side-ache reaction. It’s just plain disgusting how awful downtown Pita Pit is. I’m sure corporate headquarters in Coeur d’ Alene, Idaho MUST hate this location. It’s operated by a bunch of resin-brained, black-lunged-stoners who make McDonald’s employees a model for productivity. But all of us “in-state-graduaters” feel compelled to still eat here because of our incestuous loyalty for P.P. from college days. This pit is no buddy from college. The downtown Pita Pit is more like that girl from Lane Community College that you took home from your buddy’s party. She, like the downtown Pita Pit, made you “sick” later.

By the way, it’s national “Use-Hyphens-Day”.

*In the Eugene pita pit, I heard someone order a “Liberal Pita”. Ingredients: “Slather on some abortion with a side of gay marriage”. I really wish I was kidding.

12 Responses to “#17 Pita Pit”


  1. 1 Drew 03/03 at 10:33 am

    <>

    I wish it were “Use Apostrophes Day” because then we might have gotten “you’re more apt to visit”.

  2. 2 ...... 11/05 at 7:03 pm

    PITA PIT MAY SUCK BUT IT IS NOT THE FAULT OF THE EMPLOYEES, IT’S A SHIT JOB AND THEY HAVE TO DEAL WITH DRUNK ASSHOLES AND DRUG ADDICTS MAKING MESSES IN THE BATHROOM AND DINING AREA, CUSTOMERS YELLING AND TREATING THEM LIKE SHIT, IF YOU DON’T LIKE THE PLACE BECAUSE “BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE” TRY BEING A LITTLE FUCKING NICE TO THEM AND JUST MAYBE YOU WILL SEE THEY ARE HARDWORKING PEOPLE THAT HAVE TO WORK A SHIT JOB FOR LITTLE MONEY AND SERVE PEOPLE THAT DISRESPECT THEM. MOST OF THE PEOPLE THAT WORK THERE ARE PRETTY RAD AND CONSTANTLY GET LOOKED DOWN UPON SO GIVE THEM A BREAK THEY ARE ACTUALLY GOOD PEOPLE.

  3. 3 RDG 02/10 at 1:21 pm

    I find this pretty funny. A Pita Pit opened about about 8 blocks from me last year on the west side of Houston – service and food was awful. It was closed within 12 weeks. I’ve never seen a restaurant implode THAT quickly.

  4. 4 Brokenlamp 07/28 at 12:37 pm

    Pita Pit corporate is one of the least involved corporate fast food Chains. I work at the USF Store and am in the back Right now. I have worked here for a year and half and have never seen or heard of a corporate employee in the store. It is because of this lack of over site on the part of corporate that franchise owners can get away with Shitty service and value. If you do have a complaint call Pita pit US corporate (www.pitapitUS.com) after they get a few complaints on one store they may look into it, but if you hate the place just go someplace else. There is always steak and shake.

  5. 5 Ryan Thompson 05/04 at 1:53 am

    Hey “I Hate Pita Pit”, nice abandoned myspace profile there. :p

  6. 6 Ryan Thompson 01/06 at 12:00 am

    Ah look its a new year, and surprise surprise, Pita Pit jacked up their prices. Nevermind gas is the lowest its been in 4½ years. “Uuuhhh, uuuummmm, minimum wage went up.” COP OUT. FUCK that shit

  7. 7 dismalvoyage 09/23 at 4:50 am

    Yes, the downtown Pita Pit is one of the dodgiest places you can eat in Portland! Kind of a crime against humanity, both for the patrons and employees. The guy that owns it (a young, rich, OSU dropout), keeps the place staffed with only 2 people on the weeknights, while running a bicycle delivery service at the same time. The place always get’s flooded with very hungry, very wasted, downtown party types. People have to wait in line forever to get any service. And consequently, the place get’s ravaged.

    I was the late night shift manager for much longer than I care to admit. I have also food poisoned myself from eating the food I carefully prepared for myself. People continue to to eat there as it’s one few other late night options in that neighborhood. As Phuck Yew said, this place is a customer service NIGHTMARE so you’re an insensitive prick if you criticize the workers for coming off a little aloof.

    Never ending drama going on there. I know I never went a week without telling someone to “fuck off” or “get lost” or “tell all your asshole friends we suck” or refuse service outright and force people to take their money back for getting pushy with me. Fights between workers constantly as well. A very apocalyptic locale. I became genuinely psychotic after a period of time. This joint must’ve been built on an indian burial ground. Eventually I quit, which was one of the smartest things I had ever done, as it’s been for every former employee. The morbid stories I could tell you, but won’t bother ’cause at this point I’m rambling. Avoid at all cost.

  8. 8 Phuck Yew 07/24 at 7:30 pm

    I love Pita Pit. I don’t know what the fuck all these assholes are on about. They deliver late and as for the “bad” customer service you assholes recieved try to understand one thing, in a job like theirs you get paid shitty wages and have to cater to pretentious assholes fiending for exemplary customer service at a goddamn Pita Pit. I’ve worked plenty of customer service jobs in my day and theirs nothing worse than some jerkoff wanting you to suck his dick for your 8.50/hr. You can go fuck yourself…done.

  9. 9 I hate Pita Pit 07/11 at 2:09 pm

    myspace.com/pitapitsucks

  10. 10 maverickMuze 07/11 at 1:15 pm

    I hate pita pit as Well. I live on Campus by UCF and we have one of the worse customer service ever! they always get your order wrong! One time I spent 18.64 on Two pitas with double meat anyhow, the first one was done properly, the second one was just a small chicken pita. with no sauce or any other ingredients. I plan boycotting them in September. They are plenty of students who feel the same as I. If anyone wants to boycott in their area as well, please contact me at:PitaPitBoycott@gmail.com.

  11. 11 joe mama 03/31 at 5:05 pm

    I tried Pita Pit once. Never again. Paid $7 and change for something not even worth $4. Hell– delicious gyros are two blocks away. Why bother with PP?

    The service wasn’t just slow but also rude– like I’m supposed to know exactly how they run their fucked up queue / ordering system. After that debacle, I sauntered over to the seating area to discover that every available table was filthy. I took my sloppy, largely tastless crap sandwich to a park around the corner and ate it there. What a hole. Pita Pit = Pita Shit.

  12. 12 B2G 03/28 at 8:46 pm

    Whoa. The Pita Pit in the Euge rocks, whether or not you order the “Liberal Pita.” Which you totally made up.


Leave a Reply

